Five Coalers advance, four are champions at Plano

PLANO — Coal City had four champions, a total second only to the host school, at the Class 1A Plano Wrestling Sectional Saturday.

Coaler winners were Joey Rivera (106), a 12-9 finals winner over Lisle's Drew Sonnefeldt, Cody Minnick (113), a finals winner over Lisle's Jeff Chan by fall in 5:35, Corey Jurzak (126), a 5-0 finals winner over Gordon Tech's Marc Rodriguez, and Casey Brown (132), a 1-0 finals winner over Wilmington's Austin Headrick.

Coal City also had Riley Kauzlaric (171) advance to the title bout, where he lost a 14-6 major decision to Kyle Betourne of McNamara.

A more detailed story will follow on at a later date and also be published in Tuesday's newspaper.